So…Much…News…

It seems that it wasn’t only my week that was busy. There has been a ton of news to hit the blogosphere and the MMO News sites in the past few days. No, I’m not going into everything. That would just be an unruly post. But there are a couple I would like to highlight.

First, and probably the biggest story of the week, is the official announcement of Star Wars: The Old Republic. I wrote about my thoughts on this a few posts ago, but now that I have some details, I have to say that I’m more interested now than ever. There are a few things that concern me though.

While I’m excited to check out the game (as I am with anything Star Wars related), the few details that LucasArts gives about the gameplay make me wonder how much replay value the game will have. It sounds so far like it will be a story driven game that has an ending, you just play it with other people. They even mentioned about playing the game from beginning to end as a Jedi and then again as a Sith and having completely different story lines. Well, that’s great and all, but if the game has an ending, how long are people going to keep paying you so they can keep playing? I for one know that I would play it once for each, and then probably cancel my subscription until they released an expansion so I could continue the stories. I would feel no draw to continue logging in with out actually advancing my characters in some way, shape, or form.

The second biggest story in my eyes this week, was the story of the woman who logged into her “Husband’s” Maple Story account, and killed his character off because he divorced her…in game. Yes, that’s right, they’re not married in real life. They were married in Maple Story and he divorced her avatar. Not only that, but she became so made at the virtual divorce, that she logged into game, killed off his character, and, get this, is going to jail for it! And no, she’s not going to jail for “murder”, she’s going to jail for hacking his account. While I can see them taking action against her Maple Story account, I can’t believe that the authorites would get involved in such a petty dispute, especially over virtual goods. It worries me more and more about how much “big brother” is going to start cracking down on other in-game occurances. I’m not saying that what she did was right, because it’s not, but does she really deserve 5 years in jail? I don’t think so.

And finally, I’ve continued on my Warhammer crusade. The more I play the game, and learn about it, the more fun I find it to be. I will be joining my first guild tomorrow as well. It is a guild that will be started at 7pm CST at the Flight Master in Altdorf, on the Phoenix Throne Server. The guild leaders will be Sister Julie and Sister Fran from the No Prisoners, No Mercy Podcast. If anyone else is playing on the PT Server, Order Side, feel free to come and join us tomorrow night for the start of what I’m expecting to be an amazing guild, and group of fellow gamers.

Also, even though I mentioned them a few lines ago, I want to give a shout out to Sister Julie and Sister Fran for putting out, what I consider to be, one of the best Podcasts on the internet. Much love for the show ladies! It was listening to the first couple episodes of that show that inspired me to actually start writing more seriously and to get off my chest what it is that I have to say about our world of MMOs.

Anyway, I plan on trying to keep this blog a little more up to date. I was doing good with every other day for a while, but I’ve been slacking lately. Bad Jmo!

Leave a Reply

